Libraries, Archives, Museums, Monuments and Sites

Libraries, Archives, Museums, Monuments & Sites (LAMMS)

The five international organisations for cultural heritage, IFLA (libraries), ICA (archives), ICOM (museums), ICOMOS (monuments & sites) and CCAAA (audiovisual archives), have a longstanding relation of cooperation and now agreed to intensify cooperation between their organisations in those areas where libraries, archives, museums, monuments and sites have mutual interests and activities.

In the LAMMS group, the leadership of the international NGOs have formed a Committee to facilitate discussion on and to promote understanding of and further cooperation on matters of common interest to the cultural heritage sector.

Read more

Libraries, Archives, Museums, Monuments and Sites, Joint Activities, Audiovisual and multimedia resources, Cultural heritage, Digital preservation, International cooperation, International-NGOs, Collaboration

Last update: 7 March 2017

Latest News

Applications Open for World Book Capital 2020: IFLA Encourages Bids that Highlight Libraries

The World Book Capital initiative gives cities the opportunity both to celebrate local writing and culture, but also to promote reading and a love of books among residents and visitors. Bids are now open for 2020. IFLA welcomes candidates which recognise and promote the role of libraries in delivering more sustainable, literate and participatory societies.

19 September 2017

Sharjah named World Book Capital 2019

Sharjah (United Arab Emirates) was named World Book Capital for the year 2019 by the Director-General of UNESCO, Irina Bokova.

27 June 2017

Call for applications: World Book Capital 2019

UNESCO, IFLA and IPA have opened the call for nominations for the World Book Capital 2019

15 September 2016

Web Editor for this group